ou are in [People] [Freedom of the Town Recipients]

The Freedom of the Town awards were first made by the Town Council in March 2012.

The 2012 recipients were:

- Rod Desmeules - for his organisation and maintenance of the renowned Christmas lights, floral displays and flagpoles,
- Gwyneth Bullock - former town mayor, for her support offor social events, church activities and twinning events,
- Kathleen Walker - for her work with the Women's Institute, Croft Hall, Luncheon Clubs and CHAIN,
- Betty Grant - for her lengthy and outstanding contribution to the community, ongoing contribution to CHAIN and NWN Over 80s Christmas parcels, Royal British Legion and Tuesday Club, and
- the late Robin Tubb - veteran Town Crier and Bellman.

The 2013 recipients were:

- Jack Williams
- Bill Acworth, and
- John Hollister - follow this for more on John Hollister.

The 2014 recipients were:

- Robert James
- Hugh Pihlens
- Ron Tarry - see "Whole town mourns Ron Tarry" NWN 10th March 2022. 

The 2015 recipients were:

- John Newton
- Roger Beard

The 2016 recipients were:

- David Clayton - long serving director and producer with the Community of Hungerford Theatre Company
- Janette Kersey - who has served with the charity CHAIN for 20 years, 10 of them as chairwoman. Also given 25 years dedicated service to the Hungerford Surgery, is a former town mayor and a Hungerford Primary School governor.
- Neale Marney - an organiser of the Victorian Extravaganza, a volunteer first aid responder at civic events, the main co-ordinator for intalling and financing the town's defibrillators, a chorister at St Lawrence Church, and a Hungerford Primary School governor.

The awards were presented by the Lord Lieutenant of Berkshire, James Puxley, at a ceremony on the Corn Exchange on 14 Jun 2016.

Beryl Fowler -  A special award was made in December to Beryl Fowler, who had served as clerk to Hungerford Town Council for 32 years, chairwoman of HADCAF from 1994 until 2015, as well as many other acts of service to the community.

The 2017 recipient was:

- Margaret Wilson

See also: Tony Bartlett's photos of Award of Freedom of the Town to Margaret Wilson, 1st May 2017

The 2018 recipients were:

- Norman Barr
- Chris Scorey
- Catherine Wooliston

The 2019 recipients were:

Chris Buck. As well as being a church organist at St Lawrence’s, Chris also organises concerts at the church and elsewhere to help raise funds for a variety of local groups, assists at the ABC toddler group and organises the church’s annual flower festival.

Chris Buck died in May 2020 (during the coronavirus lockdown). See "Mayor's tribute to town stalwart" - NWN 14 May 2020.

Peter Harries. As well as being a former Town Councillor and serving two terms as Mayor, Peter has also been actively involved in a number of local charities and community groups over the years. These include CHAIN, the Kennet & Avon Canal and the Bowls Club. He is also a trustee for the Hungerford Library & Community Trust.

Ted Angell. Ted is a Trustee and the Handybus Co-ordinator for CHAIN. The Handybus is a community minibus whose services are primarily directed at those who are less mobile or socially isolated. As well as bring a volunteer driver, he was also instrumental in the recent successful bid for funds for a new bus.

See: "Trio are awarded Freedom of Town" - NWN 28 Mar 2019

See: "Ted, Chris and Peter given Freedom of the Town" - NWN 27 Jun 2019

The 2020 recipients were:

Derek Loft, Di Loft, Roger Ballard and Steve 'Skippy' Skipworth. See "Freedom of Hungerford for husband and wife" - NWN 26 Mar 2020 and "Freedom of Town for local heroes", NWN 22 Oct 2020.

See also:

- "Unique service to town recognised with three civic awards" - NWN 10 Apr 2014

- "Pair granted town honour" - NWN 14 May 2015

"Freedom of the town for 'outstanding record of service to the community'", NWN 22 Dec 2016.

- "Town's final honour for much-loved Beryl", NWN 12 Jan 2017.

- "Margaret hailed pride of the town". NWN 4 May 2017.

- "Freedom of the Town awarded to terrific trio", NWN 29 Mar 2018.

- "Trio receive Freedom of the Town of Hungerford", NWN 30 May 2018.

- Freedom of the Town Awards, 2012 - photos by Tony Bartlett

- Freedom of the Town Awards, 2013 - photos by Tony Bartlett

- Freedom of the Town Awards, 2015 - photos by Tony Bartlett

- Freedom of the Town Awards, 2016 - photos by Tony Bartlett

- Freedom of the Town Awards, 2018 - photos by Tony Bartlett

- Freedom of the Town Awards, 2019 - photos by Tony Bartlett