James H. Money (1834-1918) was an architect based in Newbury. He was born at The Dene in Donnington near The Castle Pub, the youngest son of John and Maria Money. His father ran a brickworks at Donnington House before moving on to create an architect and surveyors business in Newbury. James had two older sisters and an older brother, the famous local historian Walter Money, FSA, who wrote "An Historical Sketch of the Town of Hungerford" in 1894.
James Money designed over 70 buildings in and around Newbury. In Hungerford he was responsible for the design of such iconic buildings as the Victorian Town Hall and Corn Exchange (1870-71), the Plough Inn (1879) and St John's Mission Hall (1899-1900).
Follow this for more on James Money (from an "Out & About" feature Jan 2018).